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Top 10 Most Important Facebook Metrics to Track and Monitor in 2022

Facebook AnalyticsCompetitive Analysis


Top 10 Most Important Facebook Metrics to Track and Monitor in 2022

Despite the fact that many businesses and brands are jumping on to other social media platforms, Facebook still rules when it comes to social media marketing.

There are currently 2.8 billion people out there who are using Facebook every single day, according to Statista.

monthly Facebook active users

From its powerful advertisement options to Facebook groups, this social media platform has many possibilities businesses should use.

An active Facebook presence helps you attract potential customers and grow your business, and there's no better way to keep an eye on it than tracking your Facebook metrics.

So, what are Facebook metrics?

Mainly, they indicate the success your brand has on Facebook.

I've made a list with the most important Facebook metrics you should track and monitor to measure the success of your business in 2021.

Let's dive in!

Top 10 Facebook metrics to track in 2022

  1. Impressions
  2. Reach
  3. Video engagement
  4. Video retention
  5. Engagement rate
  6. Followers growth
  7. Click-Through Rate
  8. Cost per Conversion
  9. Cost per Thousand Impressions
  10. Followers demographics

1. Impressions

If you want to keep tabs on how many times your published content has been seen, the impressions metric is the one to follow.

Facebook defines impressions as: β€œa common metric used by the online marketing industry, and represents the number of times your ads/posts were on screen.”

Track this Facebook metric to see how many people viewed your content using an analytics tool, like Socialinsider.

Track your impressions with Socialinsider

You can also find this metric in Facebook Insights by following these steps:

  1. Go to your Facebook business page
  2. Spot the "Page Insights" button from your "Manage page" side bar
  3. Access the "Posts" button located on the left side bar of the screen
  4. Go to "Reach: Organic/Paid" and switch to "Impressions: Organic/Paid"

Track Facebook impressions with Facebook Insights

Facebook impressions are split into two main categories:

  • Organic - the Facebook metric that shows how many times your posts have been displayed in people's News Feed for free.

  • Paid - the Facebook metric that counts the number of times people bumped into your content on their pages if you paid for its display.

How can you make the best out of your impressions? πŸ€”

Always compare them to previous ones to spot a trend. This is why you have to keep track of them for a longer period, like a month or a quarter.

2. Reach

Reach refers to the total number of unique users who have seen your ad or content.

Using this key Facebook metric, you'll see how the content echoes to your audience, and you'll be able to improve your marketing strategy based on your findings.

As in the case of impressions, you can measure your page's reach with an analytics tool, like Socialinsider. Social media analytics tools offer more comprehensive information than native apps, such as average reach by type of posts or your page's reach breakdown.

Socialinsider FB reach

You can also access your reach data in Facebook Insights:

  1. Go to your Facebook business page
  2. Spot the "Page Insights" button from your "Manage page" side bar
  3. Access the "Reach" button located on the left side bar of the screen

Track your page's reach with Facebook Insights

Like Facebook impressions, reach is also split into two main categories: organic and paid.

It's worth to mention that reach data is one of the top 5 metrics for both social media professionals and clients, according to a survey on social media marketing.

3. Video engagement

A picture is worth a thousand words, but videos are way more important in today's social media strategy.

If you're using Facebook videos to promote your business, tracking your video engagement is a must.

This Facebook metric is calculated based on the number of likes, comments, shares, and clicks your videos are generating.

When using Facebook Insights, you have two options: to see your videos overall performance or to see individual video metrics.

  • Overall videos performance:
  1. Go to "Page Insights"
  2. Click on "Posts"
  3. Clicking on "Posts types"

You'll see a list with all of your posts (photos or videos) and their average engagement like in the picture below.

overall Facebook video performance

Also you can see the highest-performing video posts on your page during a selected time range.

  1. Go to "Page Insights"
  2. Click on "Videos"
  3. Select the time range needed

Here you'll see:

  • the total number of minutes that your videos were played for, including time spent replaying the videos.
  • the number of times that your videos were played for at least three seconds.

see how your Facebook videos perform

  • Individual video metrics:
  1. Go to "Page Insights"
  2. Click on "Videos"
  3. Scroll down to "Top Videos"
  4. Click on the post title of one of your videos

Individual video performance in Facebook Insights

If you are using this type of content to promote your business, you should know that vertical videos outperform landscape videos in engagement, according to Socialinsider's Facebook study.

πŸ“Œ With Socialinsider, you can get video insights for any Facebook page you’d like to track. Discover what Facebook video metrics you'll get using our tool.

4. Video retention

Video retention refers to "the amount of time viewers spend watching the videos you publish to your Page," according to Facebook.

This Facebook metric tells you how long a video keeps (or retains) a viewer's attention.

It's really important to keep an eye on this key metric (on top of video engagement) because it can help you better understand how long people are watching your videos and what point they tend to stop watching them.

  • Here is how to see Facebook videos retention in Facebook Insights:
  1. Go to "Page Insights"
  2. Click on "Videos"
  3. Scroll down to "Top Videos"
  4. Click on the post title of one of your videos
  5. Select "Post Overview" to see your viewers' activity and other video metrics
  6. Select "Retention" for more in-depth video retention insights

Facebook retention metric

  • You can also access Facebook videos retention in Facebook Creator Studio:
  1. Spot the "Insights" tab in the left side bar
  2. Scroll down and spot the "Videos" tab
  3. Click on "Retention" to see more in-depth video retention insights

Facebook video retention insights with Facebook Creator Studio

5. Engagement rate

Facebook engagement rate represents the average number of people who interacted with your post in some way or another: liked, shared, clicked, or commented on it.

Here is how to calculate the engagement rate:

Engagement rate formula

For a better engagement rate try to answer the following questions:

  • What are the trends right now concerning content? Do people like more photos or videos?
  • Am I willing to try to engage with my fans in ways I haven't done before?
  • Do I have a reliable and comprehensive social media marketing plan?
  • Do I have the resources to put into practice all my plans? How am I going to do this?

Building a compelling Facebook account is one thing but creating consistent engagement is a whole other skill that you need to learn.

If you want to increase your Facebook engagement rate, here are some things you should do:

  • Publish original content - focus on quality instead of quantity.
  • Re-post your top posts - When you re-post a piece of content, it can generate as much reach and engagement as the original post, sometimes even more.
  • Encouraging conversations, ask for opinions- Positive or negative opinions should be an opportunity for you to interact with your audience.

Here is the formula for average engagement rate per post by followers:

average engagement rate per post by followers formula

And here is the formula for average engagement rate per post by reach:

average engagement rate per post by reach formula

Continue reading πŸ‘‰ ​​Engagement Rate for All Social Media Platforms.

Another data-proven tactic to boost your Facebook engagement is to go live.

Live videos can double your engagement rate per post.

Facebook average engagement rate by live video by profile size

6. Followers growth

A growing page means you're getting more people liking and interacting with your content.

It's essential not only to measure how many new followers you get but also to know how many followers you have lost in a specific period. You can keep track of this Facebook metric with Socialinsider.

Track your fans growth with Socialinsider

From Facebook advertisements to influencer marketing, there are several ways to get new followers to your Facebook page.

Ways to increase Facebook followers in 2022:

  • Create more video content - try Facebook Live, and upload videos directly to your page.
  • Engage with your community - invite people to like your page, or to ask you questions.
  • Create viral content - host a giveaway or partner with an influencer.

7. Click-Through Rate

Click-Through Rate, also known as CTR, is an important Facebook metric to track, so you know how many of the people who saw your content clicked through to your website.

To find out the CTR of a post: divide the number of link clicks by the reach, and multiply by 100.

8. Cost per Conversion

When all is said and done, how much did it cost to get that conversion? Take all the costs of the social media campaign and divide it by the number of conversions you got.

If you spend $1,000 and get two conversions, your CPC is $500. If your profit is $300, you have some work to do.

9. Cost per Thousand Impressions

CPM is the amount you pay every time a thousand people scroll past your sponsored social media post.

10. Followers demographics

Understanding where your audience comes from allows you to shape your tone of voice, message, and customize the content to your followers specific requirements.

You can do this by looking at the follower demographics such as gender, location (country or even city), and education.

Worldwide, 9.4% of the total active Facebook users are young women between 18 and 24 years old, and 13.8% of them are male users from the same age category, according to Statista.

Facebook worldwide active users

Having this in mind, you can create your Facebook strategy to attract young people and to create content they can relate to.

However, it's important to put your own demographic first.

If your demographic consists of people over 25, or even over 30, keep the bulk of your content curated for that specific age group, while also including some posts meant to attract the younger segment.

Find more in-depth Facebook metrics!

Final thoughts

Knowing your target audience is the first step to develop your social media marketing strategy. But this is not enough. Creating valuable content also needs consistent monitoring.

As a summary to this talk, these are the most important Facebook metrics your brand needs to track in 2022:

  1. Impressions
  2. Reach
  3. Video engagement
  4. Video retention
  5. Engagement
  6. Followers growth
  7. CTR
  8. CPC
  9. CPM
  10. Followers demographics

All these metrics can be tracked manually, but if you want to save time and energy, you can use an analytics tool, like Socialinsider.

It's up to you to decide which Facebook metrics are important for your brand.

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Theodora Stanciu

Theodora Stanciu

Content Writer @Socialinsider

I am a curious sociologist with an analytical mind and a passion for everything social. I like mixing words with data and documenting social phenomena and human behaviors.

Top 10 Most Important Facebook Metrics to Track and Monitor in 2022