โ† Back to Blog

Contents:

15 Social Media Metrics That Matter In 2021

In the world of metrics, likes are easy to come by and not worth much in the long run. Likes and, to some extent, impressions, cost per thousand, page views, and even followers, are vanity metrics that look good on paper but donโ€™t mean much to your business.

Unfortunately, many marketers and managers love vanity metrics.

However, most metrics are vanity metrics without a precise goal because you have no idea how youโ€™re stacking up unless you have a goal in mind.

But as a social media professional, metrics are still your chance to demonstrate the value of your work.

So, which social media metrics matter?

Continue reading this article and find out top 15 social media metrics that matter in 2021.

All the social media metrics that matter in 2021


Awareness metrics
1. Brand mentions
2. Follower growth
3. Reach
4. Impressions
5. SSoV or Social Share of Voice

Engagement metrics
6. Total engagement
7. Engagement rate per post by followers
8. Engagement rate per post by reach

Conversion metrics
9. Conversion rate
10. CTR or Click-Through Rate
11. CPC or Cost per Conversion
12. CPM or Cost per Thousand Impressions
13. Bounce rate

Customer care metrics
14. Customer reviews/testimonials
15. Customer satisfaction

Awareness metrics

These social media metrics focus on your current and potential audience. Consider looking at these awareness metrics on your next report:

1. Brand mentions

This metric refers to the overall number of mentions of your brand online per a specific period.

2. Follower growth

Growing your followers is good.

However, whatโ€™s more important is who your followers are. If you sell roses and most of your followers donโ€™t like flowers, having more followers isnโ€™t helpful.

Depending on the network, you can learn about age, income, interests, social habits (such as time of day they are active), profession, and more.

Ask yourself: Does this audience match up with what Iโ€™m trying to accomplish? If not, it might be time to take a new look at your social media posts analytics.

follower growth metric

3. Reach

This is one of the most common social media metrics out there.

Also, reach is an actionable metric since itโ€™s directly influenced by timing (when is your audience most active?) and content (what does your audience find valuable in your post?).

It refers to the total number of unique users who have seen your post since it went live.

Track this metric with a social media analytics tool, like Socialinsider.

Track your reach with Socialinsider

4. Impressions

Impressions refer to the number of times your content has been displayed, whether it was clicked or not.

This metric tells you that your content has been shown in someoneโ€™s feed.

A viewer doesnโ€™t have to engage with the post for it to count as an impression. Also, one person could have multiple impressions for a single piece of content.

impressions metric

5. SSoV or Social Share of Voice

SSoV measures how many people mentioned your brand compared to your competitors.

There are two categories of SSoVs:

  • Direct - by tagging your posts through posts (e.g. @Socialinsider).
  • Indirect - simply mentioning your brand without a tag (e.g., โ€œSocialinsiderโ€).

Engagement metrics

This is a big umbrella category to track. Think about engagement metrics in terms of how many people are interacting with your content. Engaged consumers interact with a post through likes (or other reactions), comments, and shares.

A high engagement rate means people like what youโ€™re posting.

Measure your engagement with Socialinsider

Using an analytics tool like Socialinsider, you can keep track of your engagement reports for your business and understand how your brand performs on social media platforms.

6. Engagement rate

Total engagement represents the sum of interactions, shares, and comments for the posts published in a specific time period.

Engagement rate is calculated as total engagement divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.

average engagement

  • The engagement rate formula for Facebook

When it comes to Facebook, social media managers usually report engagement by followers since the engagement by reach is only available for the owned accounts.

The engagement rate by followers on Facebook is calculated as reactions+comments+shares divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.

  • The engagement rate formula for Instagram

On Instagram, youโ€™ll encounter the same situation with the engagement rate by followers as on Facebook.

The engagement rate by followers on Instagram is calculated as likes+comments divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.

  • The engagement rate formula for Twitter

The engagement rate by followers on Twitter is calculated as likes+retweets divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.

  • The engagement rate formula for LinkedIn

The engagement rate by followers on LinkedIn is calculated as likes+comments+shares divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.

7. Engagement rate per post by followers

It divides the average engagement by the number of followers the page has, all multiplied by 100.

Average engagement rate per post by followers formula

8. Engagement rate per post by reach

It is calculated as the percentage of likes and comments divided by the total number of posts for a specific time, divided by reach, all multiplied by 100.

Average engagement rate per post by reach formula

Continue reading ๐Ÿ‘‰ โ€‹โ€‹Engagement Rate for All Social Media Platforms.

Conversion metrics

You define what a conversion is. At the middle of the funnel, it might be a request for information; at the end of the funnel, itโ€™s probably a sale.

These metrics define how efficient your social engagement is. So you might want to ask yourself - How much of my social activity generated a conversion?

9. Conversion rate

It represents the total number of users who take a desired action after clicking on a link in your post.

The conversion actions can be defined as the ultimate action youโ€™d like users to take on your site: downloads, registrations, subscriptions, installations, etc.

10. CTR or Click-Through Rate

CTR takes the number of clicks a post gets and divides it by the number of impressions.

A low CTR means you have a high number of impressions and a low number of clicks โ€“ and that your content isnโ€™t resonating with the audience.

11. CPC or Cost per Conversion

When all is said and done, how much did it cost to get that conversion? Take all the costs of the social media campaign and divide it by the number of conversions you got.

If you spend $1,000 and get two conversions, your CPC is $500. If your profit is $300, you have some work to do.

12. CPM or Cost per Thousand Impressions

CPM is the amount you pay every time a thousand people scroll past your sponsored social media post.

13. Bounce rate

This metric measures the percentage of users who clicked on a link in your social media post, but quickly left the page without taking any action.

Customer care metrics

We talked about the performance of social media posts and overall social activity, but what about your customerโ€™s experience with your brand?

This is where customer care KPIs come in.

These social media metrics cover the most crucial stage of the customer journey. They measure how your active users feel and think about your brand.

Socialinsider Instagram review

14. Customer reviews/testimonials

These include any positive or negative reviews, comments, assessments, or endorsements your brand received over a specific period.

This is a really important metric to track. If your customers are happy with your product, chances are they will share their positive experiences with others.

Facebook reviews

15. Customer satisfaction

As the name itself suggests, this metric tells you how satisfied customers are with a certain product or service.

Final thoughts

So, there you have it: social media metrics that matter.

As youโ€™ve probably noticed from a quick scroll through this article, there are dozens of metrics that are available to you to track. Iโ€™ve compiled this list that includes the essential ones that matter to most brands.

All businesses are different, so some of these metrics may be more important to you than others.

Just be sure to have a clear goal and choose the right social media metrics to make sure you get there!


Related articles:

  1. Powerful Facebook Stats Every Marketer Should Know In 2021

  2. [Case Study] Engagement Rate on Facebook Stays Flat For the UAE Market in 2021

  3. [Case Study] Engagement Rate on Instagram Is 4 Times Greater Than the Engagement Rate on Facebook for the UK Market

Theodora Stanciu

Theodora Stanciu

Content Writer @ Socialinsider

Curious sociologist with an analytical mind and a passion for everything social. I like mixing words with data and documenting social phenomena and human behaviors.